Pioneers1.jpg (37240 bytes)

Welcome to the official site of the:

Sons and Daughters of

         Montana Pioneers


Big Sky Country!

Greetings from the Sons and Daughters of Montana Pioneers

 A Short Instruction on our Historical Beginning

We hope to make this a public stopping place for our members and all interested people. Events, meetings, and news stories concerning the Sons and Daughters can be found here, along with other information of historical significance, a link to our quarterly newsletter -- The Pick and Shovel, application forms to join the Sons and Daughters, the new Pioneer Heritage Book, and information about our board of directors. We hope you benefit from our website and accept our invitation to enjoy the history of the great State of Montana -

Feel free to drop a line and let us know what you would like to see here. Michael (Cowboy) Russell is your Webmaster here, and if any of you have historical pictures to incorporate on this site, please send them. If you email Mike, he will send you a mailing address. His email is located at the logo below.

1892Mtg.jpg (102538 bytes)

This picture was taken in Helena in 1892, when the first
chapter of Sons and Daughters of Montana Pioneers was
founded during a meeting of the Society of Montana Pioneers

The first group assembled on the steps of the county
courthouse with the founders, Mrs. T. H. Kleinschmidt,
standing left third row, and Mrs. P. B. Clarke, who stands
next to her.

Seated in the first row, left to right, are
Will Curtiss, Albert Loeb and Lewis Penwell; second row,
Charles Dahler, Ada Deegan, Mae Curtiss Cone, unidentified,
Dr. Charles Reinig, Gertie Hickman Thompson, Frances
Jurgens Toby, Theodore E. Kleinschmidt, Marie
Kleinschmidt Southworth, Alma Sanford,
Frances Esker Woodman, Bessie M. Whitcomb,
a Merrill boy, Jacob Lissner, Bessie Kirdendall,
Mrs. P. B. Sanford, Edward Horsky, Dr. Ben Brooke,
a Merrill boy, unidentified, Toby Hedges, and unidentified.

Third row, standing left to right, Mrs. T. H. Kleinschmidt,
Mrs. P. B. Clarke, Tot Millegan, unidentified,
Albert Quirk Dygert, Reta Clarke Hauser,
Kady Kirkendall Shepard, Nona N. Brown, a Stewart,
Nettie Redding Little and Mary L. Burns.

Last row, Aurile Keeler, Charles English, unidentified,
a Merrill boy and the last man is unidentified.

click for email link

2017 Convention Aug 12-13 Great Falls, Montana

Here  is a list of the hotels available in Great Falls. Our convention hotel will be the:
Best Western Heritage Inn, 1700 Fox Farm Rd, Great Falls, MT 406 761-1900
activities begin at 9:00 am on Friday
other hotels near the convention are:

Holiday Inn Express , 1625 Market Pl. Dr.  406-453-4000  

Comfort Inn,  1801 Market Pl. Dr.  406-455-1000

Crystal Inn, 3701 31st St. SW, 406-717-7788

Days Inn, 101 14th Ave. NW,   406-727-6565

All attendees 2016 Havre, Montana


The Society of Montana Pioneers – 130th Anniversary Pin  (click to link to order form)

 As can be seen on the pin mock-up above, the oval top (magnet attachment) has the Sons and Daughters Logo with the wording “The Society of Montana Pioneers” (antiqued copper).  The linked charm has three parts:  The left is the 38 star U. S. flag of 1884 (in color), the middle circle is the Society of Montana Pioneers Seal with an eagle holding a shield (antiqued copper), and the right circle is The Seal of The Territory of Montana that was in use in 1884 (in color).  The Montana Historical Society and the Montana Secretary of State’s offices graciously gave us permission to use The Seal of The Territory of Montana.  The wording on the white ribbon: “130 Years 1884 – 2014”.

 The price of the pin is $20.00.   Anniversary Pin Order Form above (click on Anniversary Pin).   The cost for mailed pins will be $25.00 each ($20 for the pin and $5.00 for shipping and handling). Don’t miss the opportunity to own one of these limited-edition, one-of-a-kind pins for you and your family members. 



Also join us on Facebook



James has established along with the University of Montana Western a "HISTORY EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIP"  This Scholarship is only available at the UMW to all qualified and enrolled SENIOR History Majors planning a career in teaching history or GRADUATE Students already employed in History Education.
We will be awarding our first scholarship for the academic year of 2016-2017, and we welcome all eligible students to apply before January 2, 2016.  Applicants will be evaluated on foinancial need, community, school, and church activities, grade point average (4.0-2.49), and (but not required) military service, and a SDMP member.
You may not have participated in all of the above activities, but dont hesitate to apply for our scholarship.
If your family came to Montana before December 31, 1868 and you are a direct descendant of a Montana Pioneer, you are eligible to join the Sons and Daughters of Montana Pioneers Society. For an application write to:
PO BOX 2035
HELENA, MT 59624
or check out this website below for an application.
For a scholarship application please contact:
UMW Foundation ATTN: Roxanne Engellant
710 S. Atlantic
Dillon, MT 59725 (406) 683-7305
Thanks for your participation in the James P Kovatch and SDMP scholarship


have something to tell or ask us? email us

We are trying to get ALL MEMBERS to supply us with their email addresses.  Please click
on this link and print out the release form and supply us with your email address. Or
just email us your email address and we will update our records.
We hope to be able to send out the Pick and Shovel via email in the future and keep
our members informed of important updates.  Have a great day.

Thanks for sending us your emails to update and improve the distribution of messages and newsletters to you.  This in turn saves the organization lots of money.
The following person's emails are being returned and are not deliverable.  Please email me back to correct the email address we have on file.  I am not going to post those email addresses but will post your name.  Please click on the the victorian pen and paper above to send me those email addresses.... Thanks Mike

Links to Applications and information

in order to read the Pick and Shovel you must have Adobe PDF Reader, click here to download it.  Its free and easy

Pick and Shovel - Spring 2017

Membership Application

Membership Dues

Board Members Contact Page 2017 - 2019

  Montana Nick Names and Motto's

            Dreams Across the Divide Stories of the Montana Pioneers
         Linda Wostrel, Editor - A new Book with the stories of our
ancestors that settled this great state. $25.00
email: or
Send check and order to:
Dreams Across the Divide Book
PO Box 2035
Helena, MT 59624



All new..... Static Cling Window Decals and our new Denim Long Sleeve and Short Sleeve Logo'd Shirts, Polo Shirts and
NOW NEW T-Shirts
click here to go to Sons and Daughters items for sale page

We are now making available video's and slide show presentations that were made during the 1942 thru 1963 Conventions, slide show DVD's range from 1965 thru 1973, also, Video's of 1987, 2000, 2001, TV coverage of 2001 Book Signing and 2010 video titled "Montana Poor Farm".

If you are interested in purchasing any of these please email us using the link above or below

Free Guestbook
Our Guestbook 

If you have inquiries about your ancestry, please do not ask about them in the
guestbook, please email us with your questions and we will get them answered that way.

click pen well to email inquiries

This page copyrighted 2-98
by Michael Russell..aka Cowboy

Page updated January 27, 2017

Search Engine Submission - AddMe